The Cooperative Bank of Cape Cod Holds Annual Meeting

The Cooperative Bank of Cape Cod marked the start of a new fiscal year and the announcement of several key appointments at its annual meeting held on April 25, 2019 at The Sea View in Dennisport.

The Coop President & CEO, Lisa Oliver with three new elected Board Members, Gene Guill, Sarah Alger, and Bill Varga

The Coop President & CEO, Lisa Oliver with three new elected Board Members, Gene Guill, Sarah Alger, and Bill Varga

Bank President and CEO Lisa Oliver opened the meeting by acknowledging several highlights from the previous year. Among them was the formation of The Cooperative Bank of Cape Cod Charitable Foundation Trust, which will significantly extend the bank’s philanthropic reach through grants to local charitable organizations. She also recognized the commercial lending team’s receipt of the SBA Small Business Third Party Lender of the Year Award, for its approval of nine 504 projects totaling over $13.7 million dollars, the largest amount for a single financial institution in the Commonwealth. Looking ahead, she also shared highlights of the bank’s three-year strategic plan, which emphasizes a core commitment to its clients, employees and communities.

Chief Financial Officer Mark Linehan also shared the successful trajectory of The Coop’s earnings, which saw a 50% increase in the last year, as well as improved efficiency through a focus on revenue and delivering a five year high capital level of 9.85%.

The meeting also included the election of new Board of Directors Members, Corporators and Officers. Gene Guill, William Varga and Sarah Alger were appointed to the Board. Guill, of Barnstable, retired from Deutsche Bank in 2012, following a thirty-eight year career in finance. He currently serves as Co-Director of RMA/Wharton Advanced Risk Management Program. Varga, of Cotuit, is Principal of Customer First – Business Development Advisors with twenty-five years of experience helping software companies accelerate their business. Alger, of Siasconset, the Principal of Sarah Alger F. Alger, PC, Attorneys At Law, practicing in Osterville and on Nantucket.

Newly elected Corporators

Newly appointed Corporators Michael Kasparian, Stephen Hooper, Sheila Vanderhoef, Lead Director, Lisa Oliver, President & CEO, Abby Our Rose, Christian Valle, Peter Q. Smith

Elected as new Corporators were Michael Kasparian, President of the Falmouth Chamber of Commerce; Christian Valle, President of The Valle Group; Abby Our Rose, Construction Manager at Robert B. Our Co.; Stephen Hooper, Owner of Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa; and Peter Q. Smith, Retired Commercial Relationship Manager with The Cooperative Bank of Cape Cod.

Elected as bank officers were Anne Aalto, Secondary and Loan Delivery Officer; Jessica Terry, Compliance and Quality Control Officer; Kirsten Wickson, CRM Officer; Donald Jacobs, Finance Officer; Stephen Dignam, Deposit Operations Officer; Bob Martin, Investment Executive Officer. Additionally, three current officers were promoted to newly created leadership roles. Charlie Gill was promoted to VP Lending Applications; John Cooke was promoted to VP Marketing Officer; and Laurie Maul was promoted to VP Human Resources Officer.

Newly elected officers

Newly elected Officers and employee promotions: Laurie Maul, Charlotte Green, Katie Lowrey, Lisa Oliver, Anne Aalto, Jessica Terry, John Cooke, Charlie Gill, Stephen Dignam, and Donald Jacobs